Diagnosis

Firstly I would like to advise against the ostrich head-in-the-sand attitude. If you cough up blood or in any way suspect a lung problem, rather go for tests, no matter the time or cost. I waited too long.  I knew nothing of cancer and didn’t know that lung cancer spreads to the brain and that it spreads fast.  Had I known I would have made different choices. But as my mantra says, let the past remain the past.

As I explained in the History section of the blog, I agreed to come in for tests because I could feel my brain shutting down.  Well, of how much I was actually aware, I don’t know.  I just felt sleepy and drugged, almost hung over.

I don’t remember much after admission or what sort of tests I all had, but I do recall lying on a bed in the radiology department with my shoulders exposed and a doctor running up and down inserting things in my back.  It wasn’t painful at all.  I felt like I was being operated on by aliens LOL. It was so surreal. I presume they stuck tiny needles into my lungs to extract fluid with which to do the biopsies.

I was sent home with a heavy dose of cortisone after 2 days. Treatment was to begin the following week.

Leave a Reply

