Fun and games for October ’16

mixed-emotionsI went on a high cortisone dose at my hospital visit on 7 September 2016, whereafter it was gradually reduced, but on 30 September my brain shutting down again, whereafter the dosage was increased.  I am currently (6 October) still on the increased dosage and functioning well.  I am scheduled for radiation and not sure at what stage I’ll be coming off the cortisone.  The bloatedness is already evident in my face and stomach!  Last time it took about 2 months for my body return to normal. My diet can’t cope well with the cortisone cravings….it makes me obsessive compulsive, it’s terrible.  I’ll tackle my summer body when the cortisone is at an end.

img_0289b

On Monday 10 October I need to go for a port flush (that horrible plug in my chest into which they stick a needle to flush it out and to clean it open).  Future chemo will pump into my body through the port that’s why it should be maintained.

In the afternoon I’ll be at N1 City for 2.5 hours where I’ll be getting a mask for the head (to keep the head still & in place so that the radiation is always done in the correct position – the head gets strapped in), a MRT scan and a CT scan.

On 18 October (a week later) I need to meet the oncologist, who will inform me of his decision, based on the above scans. I may need 5 treatments of radiation.

In between (on other days) I need to find time to have my hemoglobin checked with a blood test and another blood test to check my blood level (whether the blood is too thick or too thin and gets chemically adjusted).

I’ll add more photos and results when I know more.  Thank you for your thoughts and good wishes.

2 thoughts on “Fun and games for October ’16

Leave a Reply

